Definition of European Union

An association of European countries, formerly known as the European Community. Following the Maastricht Treaty most member countries of the EU are moving towards common economic, foreign, and social policies. [1]

The member states are:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.